Walk in the park – winter photography

Ok so there are people and there are people who like winter. Easy to guess whose side I am on. Not the point, though, I just thought I would put it out there.

Of course winter is not over where I live, and it will be here for a while actually, which is not that big of a deal because it’s been like that forever; we get continuous reminders every few days. Case in point: this past weekend. End of March and white is the new green, guys. I hibernate inside all winter long, but last weekend I decided to actually go to the park – not go, no, let me rephrase, drive to the park, about 20 seconds away from my home 🙂 – so drive to the park and take a few snapshots because I thought the trees looked nice. I am glad I did.

Now why am I saying this? Since I am not a photographer, i am just someone with a camera who would very much like to be a real photographer but for various reasons hasn’t got there (long story), I haven’t invested in super high quality lenses. I have a few, but not that many; the ones I have are not worth thousands either.  I mean I have never paid a thousand dollars on a lens. Never. Plus, I stopped buying lenses when I began thinking of upgrading the body, which has never happened either, see a pattern of setting myself up for failure constantly and quite intentionally? Something I do naturally, in the most effortless fashion you’ve seen, by the way. Just saying.

For a while I haven’t even picked up the camera, why would I buy more lenses? Now that I get to touch it every now and then I got back to the “my photos are not great cause I dont have great lenses” speech and almost decided to try to sell the ones I have. Try because I am not one to sell stuff, but I said I will give it a try and if it works and I can get a few bucks on the lenses I have, I will cover the difference and actually buy one or two serious lenses. I mean, wait till I get those lenses, my photos will be amazing! (sarcasm)

My mindset was set to I hate these lenses, they are not good enough to make me a photographer (sarcasm again 🙂 ) and that’s why I am not able to take good pictures. Until Saturday morning when i went for this walk in the park and snap, snap, snap. Came home, looked at the photos and it turns out I even LIKE some. I am happy with what came out. Sooooo it looks like these lenses are dying with me. Unless I decide to upgrade the camera, in which case I will have no choice but to buy new ones.

I think I shot this scene with a 55-250mm that came with the camera and it looks decent (if I say so). Will I try to avoid practicing because I don’t have the best gear ever produced? Heck, yeah. But at least I will have this to look at when I am holding my lenses above the trash can, ready to let go.

By the way I dropped one prime lens on vacation, it broke into many pieces, so now I have even fewer objects to worry about. I just wanted to end on a positive note hahahaha

M.

Leave a Reply

